4 Minutes – 33 Seconds

Today I’m enjoying quiet. Or am I. I was surprised I didn’t turn on any music or t.v. Sitting in my living room looking beyond my balcony to the trees slowly swaying, my mother asleep, Huckleberry my cat amazingly still, I decided to remain quiet with only my thoughts. Not totally quiet, because I spent the time with my computer: reading blogs, looking at photos and reading about interests. Almost three hours have passed and I haven’t spoken a word to anyone or heard anyone speak. It’s the quietest life has been in a very long time. And I loved it!.

I started web searching: “the value of silence”. I came across an article: “Silence Please” by Susan Hill and “The Vows of Silence”. I was intrigued and found myself agreeing with much of what she had to say.

That search led me to John Cage, whom I had never heard of before, a composer and music theorist. He composed 4’33” performed in the absence of deliberate sound. I will probably now spend a couple of more hours reading about John Cage and “listening” to his music and continuing my day of silence. I’ve never been able to meditate, but I do like the state of letting my thoughts travel wherever they want and if there are any external sounds from the world around me, so be it, for now, I will just listen.

The central theme of my blog has been “Living Life One Song at a Time”. It could just as easily be “…One Sound at a Time”, because I think that as much as I love music, music to me can also come in the form of people talking, the purring of my cat, laughter, the sounds of nature and the city, and yes, even silence.

Enjoy 4’33″…

This entry was posted in Feelings, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

