Dream a Little Dream

Does anyone else dream like me? My dreams are so real and with incredible detail. They come to me in three types of visions: haunting nightmares about actual events in my friends’ lives (fortunately not my most recent experience), flashbacks to recurring scenes and people, and lengthy stories that could almost become plots for a film.

Last night I dreamed one of those movie plots. I know they say dreams last only minutes, but as far as I’m concerned, I was dreaming all night long and the thing that stirred me out of it was my cat Huckleberry nuzzling my face.

As soon as I awakened, it was almost as if someone hit the rewind button in my brain and the dream played back.  There was a hospital scene with a woman in the maternity ward, I was in New York at one of my favorite East River bridges, a cousin kept calling me with an update about the expectant woman in the hospital.  By the way, my cousin was wearing a floral dress a la Jason Wu.  I was calling to get a plane ticket for a flight to Houston, and the humor in my conversations with my cousin had me in stitches.

This morning I tried to figure out why I had that particular dream. Who had I spoken with recently? Why was my cousin calling from a “pay phone”? Who was having a baby? Why was I in New York?  Considering the recent events in my life, I couldn’t make any connections.  But that’s what’s interesting about dreams.  Try as we might we can’t figure them out, although some people would say otherwise.

In trying to interpret last night’s dream, this morning I found myself walking down memory lane, remembering my friends and relatives, and thinking how peaceful life will be for a while after a rough two-three weeks of sadness after the passing of a dear friend and fatigue from numerous events at work.

As usual, my memories turn to music and I “scrolled” my cerebral slide bar for songs about dreams.  All day long I’ve been humming Dream songs, but the one that has stayed with me the longest is Cass Eliot’s “Dream a Little Dream of Me”.  Hence, my song of the day is:

This entry was posted in Dreams, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

