Super Bowl Sunday

I’m not a football fan and I didn’t watch today’s game.  (I guess that statement just lost me my Blog viewership, but I have to be honest.)

Well, actually, I watched the last 2-3 minutes, because I sat down at the computer to type, but before blogging I switched to ESPN to check the score.  I didn’t think much of it when I saw the Patriots leading.  I checked Facebook to find out which teams my friends were rooting for and most of them seemed to be for the Patriots.  I also opened up Twitter to follow other people’s comments.  Then my mischievous side surfaced and I decided to follow the rest of the game, hoping that my friends’ opposition would win.  (I’m not a mean person at heart, but it was kind of fun to root for the other team.) When I saw the Giants jump ahead at the last minute, even I got excited about it. Then I had to keep following the game.

And sure enough, it was an upset and I was a part of the millions of viewers.  Not bad for a non-football fan.

I must admit I got a little emotional thinking about all the celebrations that will certainly go on for the rest of the night, the partying and the music.  And when I thought of the music, it occurred to me that I hadn’t read about the half-time show.  I knew Madonna was the star and it didn’t take long to find her performance online. (God bless the Internet.)

I watched her performance over and over, only to come to the conclusion that not only am I not a football fan; I’m obviously also not a Madonna fan.  It was glitzy and exciting, but I just couldn’t connect to the music.

So my Super Bowl evening was coming to an end and while I could say that “my team” won, I couldn’t say that the event affected me much in any way.  So,  time to return to my blog.  But then, it hit me.

Every Super Bowl has a grand opening.  And the grand opening includes music.  Maybe there was something I could enjoy about the greatest football event of the year.  And was there ever.  Go Kelly!!!

(2/11/12) I finally give up. I keep posting Kelly singing the National Anthem on Super Bowl ’12 and it keeps vanishing.  I’ll leave it to my readers to find it themselves on You Tube.

 

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

